Hope

In a recent interview with Oprah Winfrey, First Lady Michelle Obama states, “Now we’re feeling what not having hope feels like.” The statement seems to suggest that our hope comes from the person who has been elected President. If that was the case, then I whole-heartedly agree – I have no hope. However, it did not end with the elections in November. No President that has ever led this country has ever been able to produce the hope that any of us need.

The Bible is a great reference for telling us not only where hope comes from, but where to place our hope.

My soul, wait in silence for God only, For my hope is from Him. (Ps. 62:10).

For You are my hope; O Lord God, You are my confidence from my youth. (Ps. 71:14).

For whatever was written in earlier times was written for our instruction, so that through perseverance and the encouragement of the Scriptures we might have hope. (Rom. 15:4).

And now, Lord , for what do I wait? My hope is in You. (Ps. 39:7).

“Why are you in despair, O my soul? And why have you become disturbed within me? Hope in God, for I shall again praise Him For the help of His presence. O my God, my soul is in despair within me; Therefore I remember You from the land of the Jordan And the peaks of Hermon, from Mount Mizar. Deep calls to deep at the sound of Your waterfalls; All Your breakers and Your waves have rolled over me. The LORD will command His lovingkindness in the daytime; And His song will be with me in the night, A prayer to the God of my life. I will say to God my rock, “Why have You forgotten me? Why do I go mourning because of the oppression of the enemy?” As a shattering of my bones, my adversaries revile me, While they say to me all day long, “Where is your God?” Why are you in despair, O my soul? And why have you become disturbed within me? Hope in God, for I shall yet praise Him, The help of my countenance and my God.” (Ps. 42:5-11).

How blessed is he whose help is the God of Jacob, Whose hope is in the LORD his God (Ps. 146:5).

It’s easy to see from these few examples, that our hope comes from the Lord, and is to be placed in the Lord. The question could easily be asked, WHY? Why hope in the Lord? Well, the answer comes directly out of scripture as well:

This I recall to my mind, Therefore I have hope. The LORD’S lovingkindnesses indeed never cease, For His compassions never fail. They are new every morning; Great is Your faithfulness. “The LORD is my portion,” says my soul, “Therefore I have hope in Him.” (Lam. 3:20-24).

Therefore, having been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom also we have obtained our introduction by faith into this grace in which we stand; and we exult in hope of the glory of God. And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us. For while we were still helpless, at the right time Christ died for the ungodly. (Rom. 5:1-6).

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who according to His great mercy has caused us to be born again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, (1 Pet. 1:3).

Therefore, prepare your minds for action, keep sober in spirit, fix your hope completely on the grace to be brought to you at the revelation of Jesus Christ. (1 Pet. 1:13).

If you address as Father the One who impartially judges according to each one’s work, conduct yourselves in fear during the time of your stay on earth; knowing that you were not redeemed with perishable things like silver or gold from your futile way of life inherited from your forefathers, but with precious blood, as of a lamb unblemished and spotless, the blood of Christ. For He was foreknown before the foundation of the world, but has appeared in these last times for the sake of you who through Him are believers in God, who raised Him from the dead and gave Him glory, so that your faith and hope are in God. (1 Pet. 1:17-21).

For it is for this we labor and strive, because we have fixed our hope on the living God, who is the Savior of all men, especially of believers. (1 Tim. 4:10).

Our hope, as Christians, takes shape in many ways, through Jesus. Ultimately, we look forward to His return.

For the creation was subjected to futility, not willingly, but because of Him who subjected it, in hope that the creation itself also will be set free from its slavery to corruption into the freedom of the glory of the children of God. For we know that the whole creation groans and suffers the pains of childbirth together until now. And not only this, but also we ourselves, having the first fruits of the Spirit, even we ourselves groan within ourselves, waiting eagerly for our adoption as sons, the redemption of our body. For in hope we have been saved, but hope that is seen is not hope; for who hopes for what he already sees? But if we hope for what we do not see, with perseverance we wait eagerly for it. (Rom. 8:20-25).

For the grace of God has appeared, bringing salvation to all men, instructing us to deny ungodliness and worldly desires and to live sensibly, righteously and godly in the present age, looking for the blessed hope and the appearing of the glory of our great God and Savior, Christ Jesus, who gave Himself for us to redeem us from every lawless deed, and to purify for Himself a people for His own possession, zealous for good deeds. (Tit. 2:11-14).

Knowing where my hope comes from, who it is in, and what it is, I do not need any political entity telling me that I have no hope. No, government does not inspire hope in me. It never has. Only Jesus has that power. He’s not running for political office, but I elected Him King long ago, therefore,

I   H A V E   H O P E ! !

Now may the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit. (Rom. 15:13).

 

One thought on “Hope

  1. Thanks for a very timely reminder of where, what and who we hope in during these turbulent times. I especially enjoyed the scriptures as we celebrate the birth of our Savior. Liz L.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

