Distractions

I think the focus of many Christians today, rightly so, is on not sinning and living for the Lord. This does not make Satan’s job very easy. “Your adversary, the devil, prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour.” (1 Pet. 5:8 NASB). “Then the Lord said to Cain, ‘Why are you angry? And why has your countenance fallen? If you do well, will not your countenance be lifted up? And if you do not do well, sin is crouching at the door; and its desire is for you, but you must master it.’” (Gen 4:6-7 NASB).

When we are alert, and watching for sin, and living for the Lord, then Satan has a difficult time digging his claws into us to try and turn us from righteousness. So, he has to get creative.

A couple of weeks back, my computer crashed. I had to re-install everything from the ground up. I do have a backup of all my important files, but I did lose some software, and I lost a lot of time restoring the whole thing. At the same time, my garage door opener refused to work one day. It just completely shut down. I had to start operating it manually. My concern became the cost if it did not start working again on its own. It eventually did, after 2 days, but I spent a lot of time and effort between my computer and the garage door opener.

Now, what does that scenario have to do with sin and the devil? I see it as a distraction. When our normal lives are totally disrupted, we cannot do things the same way we normally would. Satan tries to claim this as an advantage.

I grew up in a family with 2 brothers and 1 sister. We were all very close in age – less than 6 years separates the oldest from the youngest. When we are all together, several conversations go on at the same time. People usually don’t wait for each other to finish a thought before they start talking on top of each other. Early in life, this never bothered me. It probably still would not, but I have MS now, and my brain cannot handle the distractions.

I used to be able to read in all environments. Now, with my MS, noise impacts me terribly, and I am just not able to. I bring this up because that is just what the devil tries to do to all of us. He inserts “noise” into our lives to distract us from our normal living for the King. If our regular lives can be thrown off track, then the door is open for the “roaring lion” to enter.

So, what is the answer? How do we combat this warfare by distraction? The answer seems to be contained in this same portion of scripture expanded out:

“Therefore humble yourselves under the mighty hand of God, that He may exalt you at the proper time, casting all your anxiety on Him, because He cares for you. Be of sober spirit, be on the alert. Your adversary, the devil, prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour. But resist him, firm in your faith, knowing that the same experiences of suffering are being accomplished by your brethren who are in the world. After you have suffered for a little while, the God of all grace, who called you to His eternal glory in Christ, will Himself perfect, confirm, strengthen and establish you. To Him be dominion forever and ever. Amen.” (1 Pet. 5:6-11 NASB).

Here’s the formula:

  1. Humble yourself
  2. Cast all your anxiety on Him
  3. Be sober in spirit
  4. Be alert
  5. Resist the devil
  6. Be firm in your faith

I am interested in what anyone else has to say on the topic of Distractions. How does Satan attempt to steal your time to prevent you from giving it to God? What are some ways to practically combat this.

Leave a Reply

