Great, Big Dreams

I recently read a book by Chip Ingram called, Good to Great in God’s Eyes: 10 Practices Great Christians Have in Common. Each chapter is one of the 10 practices:

  1. Think Great Thoughts
  2. Read Great Books
  3. Pursue Great People
  4. Dream Great Dreams
  5. Pray Great Prayers
  6. Take Great Risks
  7. Make Great Sacrifices
  8. Enjoy Great Moments
  9. Empower Great People
  10. Develop Great Habits

I am particularly interested in chapter 5. Great Christians Dream Great Dreams. In fact, he further defines this as a “big, hairy, audacious dream—something only God could do and that could not be defined as the product of human energy or effort.” This is something that God puts on your heart that you have no idea how it can possibly be accomplished, except by the power of God. I began to pray that the Lord would give me a “big, hairy, audacious dream,” and He answered almost immediately. Since I had no idea where the money was going to come from, I talked it over with my wife and asked her to pray about it. I also asked her to pray for her own “big, hairy, audacious dream.” She came back to me later and told me that she really believes that God was moving her in a different way than what I said. So, is it possible that God gave us two different dreams? Not only possible, but probable.

I say all of that because I firmly believe that God has a dream for every Christian in the world. Not only that, but the dream is going to appear too lofty and out of reach. Why? God wants each of us to know that there are many things we can accomplish under our own power. However, there are some things that are completely beyond our grasp. On the contrary, what is impossible for us is merely child’s play to God!

“And looking at them Jesus said to them, ‘With people this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.’” (Matt 19: 26)

For nothing will be impossible with God.” (Luke 1:37)

“But He said, ‘The things that are impossible with people are possible with God.’” (Luke 18:27)

When we tap into the power that He has available to us, and allow Him to work through us, there are no impossibilities. Imagine the effect on the world around us if we would simply pray, “Lord, what awesome thing would you like to accomplish today?” Then, no matter what He tells you, in faith, reply “Let’s do it!” The most important thing to remember is that you are asking what He wants to accomplish. Second, you are saying “Let’s do it” not, “I’ll do it.” The difference is in recognizing that you won’t come anywhere close to accomplishing His purpose without His complete involvement.

My wife and I each have our marching orders. I hope, and pray that each of you will ask the Lord what He can accomplish through you. Don’t be surprised by the size of what He says He can do. We serve a BIG God. EXPECT that He will choose to accomplish BIG things.

5 thoughts on “Great, Big Dreams

  1. I continue to enjoy these monthly blogs by Todd, looking eagerly forward to his special insights about faith and action. As my own time horizon shortens (I’m a boomer), I believe we must challenge the millennials with this notion of dreaming big as individuals, counting on God and no one else to bring the power to their purpose.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Gary! I agree, we must forward the challenge that God has placed on all of us to dream big. You have first hand experience of throwing faith behind a dream and watching God take over. That’s the kind of dreams that I want to experience, and the kind of faith I want. God bless you in your continued work.

      Like

Leave a Reply

