Plugged into God’s Power

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” (Phil. 4:13 NKJV)

It is important to know that it only through the power of Jesus Christ that we are able to say “I can do all things.” This is not a strength based on sayings the sinner’s prayer. This is a strength we receive through constant communion with God. It can be extremely easy for us to rely on our own abilities to get things done. Sometimes, that works. I know plenty of people who perform their jobs, their hobbies, their daily duties, etc. under their own power. For example, if I need to go to the store, I get into my car and drive to and from the store. It’s extremely rare that I would stop and pray for the strength to perform this task. However, if I get into an accident along the way, you bet I am looking for strength from above!

We have an unending supply of power from God; we just have to stay plugged into it. Think about it this way: anytime I turn on a lamp, I expect to see light. If I get no light, the first thing I check is to see if it is plugged in. That lamp will give no light if it is not plugged into a power source. That’s the same with us. In order to shine bright with the light of Jesus, we have to be plugged in to the one true Power Source.

It is really easy to talk about these things – to share these principles that I believe in. Sometimes a difficult situation rears its ugly head, and it is time to put these principles into practice. That is much harder. In those times, it is easy to rely on my own strength, especially when I don’t see what God is doing.

I was recently issued a traffic citation for “Improper Lane Use” in a little city on the outskirts of Chicago. I did not actually do anything to deserve the ticket. The officer had not actually seen anything. He had issued the ticket because there had been an accident, and everything was my word against the other driver. I had to go to court so the judge could decide if I had used my lane improperly. My prayers were that the Lord would cause this case to go favorably for me.

I should have been praying for Wisdom. Instead, I relied solely on my prayers that it go in my favor. I failed to listen to what the Lord may have been telling me, things that would have turned the corner for this to go my way. No, I went to the courthouse believing that I could just tell my story, and God would make the judge rule for me. I wish I had prayed for Wisdom. I wish I had of asked God to show me what to do. I wish I had of listened to anything the Lord may have been telling me. After all was said and done, I lost the case and had to pay a pretty hefty fine.

At some point, we all have to realize that we are not strong enough to do any of this on our own. We must stay plugged in to God, our power source. We must rely on His strength. Christ’s strength in me is what gives me the ability to accomplish all things.

Christian musician Matthew West wrote a song called “Strong Enough”. I’m including the lyrics as well as a YouTube video. I believe these words truly encapsulates this message:

 

Strong Enough

You must
You must think I’m strong
To give me what I’m going through

Well, forgive me
Forgive me if I’m wrong
But this looks like more than I can do
On my own

I know I’m not strong enough to be
everything that I’m supposed to be
I give up
I’m not strong enough
Hands of mercy won’t you cover me
Lord right now I’m asking you to be
Strong enough
Strong enough
For the both of us

Well, maybe
Maybe that’s the point
To reach the point of giving up

Cause when I’m finally
Finally at rock bottom
Well, that’s when I start looking up
And reaching out

I know I’m not strong enough to be
Everything that I’m supposed to be
I give up
I’m not strong enough
Hands of mercy won’t you cover me
Lord right now I’m asking you to be
Strong enough
Strong enough

Cause I’m broken
Down to nothing
But I’m still holding on to the one thing
You are God
and you are strong
When I am weak

I can do all things
Through Christ who gives me strength
And I don’t have to be
Strong enough
Strong enough

I can do all things
Through Christ who gives me strength
And I don’t have to be
Strong enough
Strong enough

I know I’m not strong enough to be
Everything that I’m supposed to be
I give up
I’m not strong enough
Hands of mercy won’t you cover me
Lord right now I’m asking you to be
Strong enough
Strong enough
Strong enough

One thought on “Plugged into God’s Power

  1. I love this post. The image of the power supply, the plug and the lamp makes graphically clear our relationship with God. Not only is it wise to turn over control to him, we are powerless to fight our battles if we don’t, even if we’re in the right. Beautiful parallel of a painful experience with spiritual truth. Sorry about the fine, but grateful for the processing that followed it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

