Why We Are Not All Healed

Since being diagnosed with MS almost 13 years ago, I have heard many Christians say that there is no reason why I shouldn’t be healed. These well-meaning people (and some not so well-meaning) provide several reasons for my non-healing. I will list a few things I have been told below, and give my response to each of these:

  • “You must have unconfessed sin in your life. You need to examine yourself, and give all to God. Then you will be healed.”
    • A paralytic man in Capernaum was brought to Jesus. When the people could not get him into the house where Jesus was, they tore through the ceiling and lowered him down. When these people brought this man to Jesus, they were looking for healing. Christ tells him that his sins are forgiven. When people question His authority to forgive sins, He then heals the man. (Matt. 9:1-8; Mark 2:1-12; Luke 5:17-26). This man did not confess his sins, first. He was simply looking for healing.
    • A man who was born blind is brought to Jesus. His disciples ask who had sinned, this man or his parents, that he should be born blind. Jesus tells them it is not because of sin that he was born blind, but to manifest God’s glory. (John 9:1-41)
    • When Jesus was being arrested, one of His disciples cut off the ear of the high priest’s servant. Jesus immediately healed him. He did not wait for this man to confess sins, He just healed him. (Luke 22:49-51)
  • “You obviously don’t have enough faith to be healed. You just need more faith.”
    • David Timms, in his book Living the Lord’s Prayer, tells why this is not a valid argument:“First, faith does not protect us from failure. Samson’s story defies the common teaching today that people with heroic-sized faith can routinely conquer disease, avoid disaster, and experience prosperity. Faith does not give us control of the universe, nor does it give us control of God.Second, failure does not suggest a lack of faith. “If only I had more faith . . . I could have been healed; my marriage could have been saved; I would not have been bankrupted.”
    • A friend of mine pointed out to me that this theory is “chock full of mistakes. For one, it places the onus to produce faith on the person. For two, it’s condemning, which is never of God.”
  • “Jesus healed everyone in the Bible, so He must still do it today.”
    • Some people cite the lame man at the temple gate Beautiful that Peter and John brought healing to. They say that since he was there every day for 40 years, Jesus must have seen him, and therefore didn’t heal him.
    • I have also heard that the man healed at the pool of Bethesda probably wasn’t the only person in need of healing, yet the Bible only records him being healed. What about those other people?
    • I don’t put much stock in the above arguments. I think it is dangerous for us to build theology based on conjecture and missing information.
    • We don’t know what all Christ did while he was on the earth. The Bible does not record any instance where Jesus did not heal someone. I know that the Bible tells us that “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.” (Heb. 13:8). However, we need to know what the author of Hebrews was trying to say, and not just apply it to every situation. Just because Jesus healed all who were brought to Him does not mean that He provide healing for everyone who wants itof it today.

I don’t believe that God is the author of our suffering. However, since we live in an evil world, we will be afflicted with injuries and diseases from time to time. I believe that He sometimes allows us to live with our afflictions. However, he chooses how to turn it around to our favor.  I know that in my case, He has brought blessing after blessing that I would never have seen had it not been for my disease. This is not to give God credit for giving me my disease, but to say that God has blessed me in spite of my disease.

My disease will not cause my life to be shortened. However, there are some diseases that can lead to death, like cancer. Why would God allow these diseases? Well, again, we live in an evil world that we caused. Due to the sin of Adam, we have to deal with the corruptions of the flesh. There are only two people who have ever escaped death and went straight to Heaven: Enoch and Elijah. The rest of us deal with a life that ends in death. However, we look forward to the day when Christ comes back, and our bodies will be transformed into Heavenly bodies that will never be impacted by injury, sickness, or death.

“It will happen in a moment, in the blinking of an eye, when the last trumpet is blown. For when the trumpet sounds, the Christians who have died will be raised with transformed bodies. And then we who are living will be transformed so that we will never die. For our perishable earthly bodies must be transformed into heavenly bodies that will never die.   When this happens — when our perishable earthly bodies have been transformed into heavenly bodies that will never die — then at last the Scriptures will come true: ‘Death is swallowed up in victory.   O death, where is your victory? O death, where is your sting?'”   (1 Cor. 15:52-55).

What is your belief?  Do you agree or disagree with me?  Write your thought on this blog.  Thanks.

One thought on “Why We Are Not All Healed

  1. I agree with you big time on this topic. I’ve always seen the promise that God will heal everyone physically without question or exception as a way to keep desperate people in bondage. I’ve never agreed that “by his stripes we are healed” has to do with physical ailments like MS.

    Like

Leave a Reply

