Sing it Like You Mean It!!!!!

I took an extended vacation for the month of December.  Although I was back at the beginning of January, this is my first post of the new Year.  Happy New Year everyone.  I pray that this will be an awesome year for you.

When I was in my early 20s, one of my favorite hymns was “I Surrender All”. The lyrics of this hymn are:

All to Jesus I surrender;
All to Him I freely give;
I will ever love and trust Him,
In His presence daily live.

Refrain:
I surrender all,
I surrender all;
All to Thee, my blessed Savior,
I surrender all.

All to Jesus I surrender;
Humbly at His feet I bow,
Worldly pleasures all forsaken;
Take me, Jesus, take me now.

All to Jesus I surrender;
Make me, Savior, wholly Thine;
Let me feel the Holy Spirit,
Truly know that Thou art mine.

All to Jesus I surrender;
Lord, I give myself to Thee;
Fill me with Thy love and power;
Let Thy blessing fall on me.

All to Jesus I surrender;
Now I feel the sacred flame.
Oh, the joy of full salvation!
Glory, glory, to His Name!

The reason I’ve highlighted some words above, is that although those are nice phrases, they are a fantasy rather than a reality. Let me explain. I wish that every phase in the song were true about me, then I could sing it with a clear conscience. When I actually take inventory of my life, I see that in these phrases there is a good intent, but can I honestly say that they are an accurate reflection of my Christian walk? I wish that in every situation of my life, I would truly surrender to Christ. I wish that I can say that I wholeheartedly trust Him and that I would live in His presence daily. Look at the second verse: it says that we would give up all worldly pleasures. Can any of us actually say that in all truth?

I do not think it is wrong of us to sing this song; however, we need to mean what we say. Every lyric needs to be accurate.

The above song is just one example from the hymnal. It shows ideals that we should aspire to reach. Another hymn song has a lyric that says: “Every day with Jesus, is sweeter than the day before.” I can’t sing this lyric, because it just is not true. Sometimes I have a bad day. This is not because I am not living for Jesus. In fact, it is because of Jesus that I can struggle through problems and know that I will make it through.

Jesus said, “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” (John 16:33, TNIV) and, “And you will be hated by all for my name’s sake. But the one who endures to the end will be saved. ” (Mark 13:13, ESV). These verses plainly tell us that life is no rose garden after we get saved.

I think that a lot of people in church sing the songs without ever considering if it really applies to them. For instance, there are a lot of songs that talk about running or dancing. I have MS, I wish I could run or dance, but it isn’t happening. If the song is talking about a future time in heaven, then, yes, I can sing it. However, most of the time, those songs are talking about the present. Since I cannot run or dance, I am silent during these parts of the song.

Respond to this posting to let me know if you think I am on target, or am way off in left field. However, please explain why you feel the way you do. Just answering with “I agree” or “I disagree” doesn’t help with understanding your viewpoint.

Leave a Reply

