Love God, Love Each Other

We say that we love God, but where is the proof?

Think about the people you love – spouses, boyfriend, girlfriend, brothers, sisters, etc. The relationship we have with any of these would be non-existent if all we ever did was say, “I love you,” then proceed to lay out a bunch of requests for that person to perform. This is exactly how we treat God sometimes. I know that sometimes when I pray, I hurry past the praise due God, and then I start my laundry list of requests. Sometimes the requests contain pseudo-praise – trying to “flatter” the Lord while the ulterior motive is to get Him to answer my requests the way I want.

When you love someone, you should consider their needs above your own. You go out of your way to please them. You do your best to ensure you don’t offend them.

The Bible teaches us about love:

“Beloved, let us love one another, for love is from God, and whoever loves has been born of God and knows God. Anyone who does not love does not know God, because God is love.” (1 John 4:7-8)

“If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. And if I have prophetic powers, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. If I give away all I have, and if I deliver up my body to be burned, but have not love, I gain nothing. Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never ends.” (1 Cor 13:4-8a)

This is our relationship with others; the creation of God. However, we have been called on by God to love Him as well:

“You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your might.” (Deut 6:5)

“And if you will indeed obey my commandments that I command you today, to love the Lord your God, and to serve him with all your heart and with all your soul” (Deut 11:13)

Jesus even points out that this verse is universal and eternal by using it in Matt 22:37 and Mark 12:30.

Our relationship with God is evident in our actions.  We can say we love God, and offer up a quick “I love you, Lord” when we pray, but how we live our lives showcases our love of God.  I can tell my wife that I love her everyday, but if I never show her that love, then she will question whether I actually do love her.  So, how do we show God that we love Him?  Obey His commands!  Which commands do we obey?  All of them.  That is a hard thing to tell people, so Jesus simplified it:

“Jesus answered, “The most  important [commandment] is, Hear, O Israel: The Lord our God, the Lord is one.  And you shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.”

Jesus said that the most important command is to love God with every fiber of your being: heart, body, soul and spirit.  To love God above all else.  To show preference to God in every choice that we make.  Ask yourself if love of God is being promoted in the movies or TV shows you choose to watch, the books you choose to read, the company you choose to keep, etc.  I’m not saying that anyone should cut movies, TV shows and books out of their lives; just use discretion when choosing a movie or TV show to watch, or choosing a book to read.  Its not wrong for a Christian to have Non-Christian friends.  However, if friends are interfering with your relationship with God, whether they are Christians or Non-Christians, then we need to tighten up our boundaries!

Christian singer/songwriter penned a song called, “That’s Why We Don’t Love God” in 1995.  I’m including the lyrics below.  This song makes the same point I am trying to make.

I would love to read any comments that you might have.

This is my last blog entry of the year, I’ll resume in January. Merry CHRISTmas, everyone!

That’s Why We Don’t Love God

That’s why, that’s why we don’t love God
Although our lips feign praise
Still our hearts are far away
That’s why, that’s why we don’t love God
We’re so consumed with self
We can’t love anybody else

We mask the nakedness
Of our mortality
Cloaked in this poison pride
And the illusion of control
We need the gift of grace
More than the air we breathe
But as it draws us near
Still it repels our stubborn souls

That’s why, that’s why we don’t love God
Oh yes our lips feign praise
But our hearts are far away
That’s why, that’s why we don’t love God
I don’t want my prayers to be
Some meaningless litany

Why are we so afraid, guarded and counterfeit
Is it because we know all the shadows we conceal
And we are so alone
Wolves in the winter snow
Never imagining
That this mercy could be real

That’s why, that’s why we don’t love God
Although our lips feign praise
Still our hearts are far away
That’s why, that’s why we don’t love God
We’re so consumed with self
We can’t love anybody else

We say we need a little help
We need some new direction
Avoid the blessing like a curse
We’re only lying to ourselves
What we need is resurrection
What we need is second birth

That’s why, that’s why we don’t love
That’s why, that’s why we don’t love
That’s why, that’s why we don’t love
That’s why, that’s why we don’t love God

Leave a Reply

