Healing?

It has been a while since I last posted anything. The basic reason is because I have had a migraine for over 2 weeks! It only calmed down enough today to not call it a migraine anymore. Therefore I wanted to get this blog entry out there.

When you’ve been sick for over 2 weeks, with no end in sight, it is very easy to start asking questions: “Why me, Lord?” “When will you heal me?” “Don’t you hear me?” It’s just like my having MS. I have heard many theories from Christians and Non-Christians alike who want to rationalize my disease. “You need to pray hard about this. Christ always healed everyone, He will heal you, too.” “You must have some unconfessed sin in your life. Remember, the prayer of faith will save the sick.” “Why would God allow someone like you to get a disease like this?” “Where is your God, that you have this disease?”

Let me attempt to address these issues.

  1. Christ did heal a lot of people when He walked the earth. However, He did not heal everyone. First, if all are healed, none will die. Second, the Bible doesn’t usually tell us when He doesn’t do something. We have to gather a full understanding of each circumstance. When he healed the man by the pool at Bethesda, He only healed that man. There were probably others waiting for healing, but He only healed 1 man.
  2. Having unconfessed sin in your life is not a qualifier for healing. This implies that the Lord cannot hear you when you sin. Thus, you will not go to heaven until that is confessed. The problem here is that if you have confessed all your sins, you will never die! On top of that, everyone who has died is eliminated from Heaven. That doesn’t even sound right.
  3. Why would God allow this disease? It goes back to When Adam and Eve were kicked out of the garden due to their sin. They introduced sin and disease into the world. God allows us to get these diseases simply because He does not hold them back. It is not God’s decision for people to receive a disease, just whether or not he will supernaturally heal them. Why doesn’t God heal every disease? I don’t even pretend to know why God does one thing and not another. The only thing I can offer here is Romans 8:28, “And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose.”
  4. Where is/was God that I have this disease? He is right here with me, feeling all my pain and wiping away my tears. He knows I am going through it, and He is going through it with me.

Nothing too deep this week, just getting some of my feelings out. Please, let me know what your thoughts are on anything I’ve said, or your thoughts on healing in general.

Leave a Reply

