Overthinking the Supernatural

Over the last couple of days I have been reading The Risk Factor: Crossing the Chicken Line into Your Supernatural Destiny by Kevin Dedmon and Chad Dedmon. I’m about halfway through the book, and I’m not sure what I think of it. The book is about taking the risk to stick your neck out and allow God to use you for His supernatural purposes. There are a lot of stories/examples given by the authors as to how they were willing to take risk, and as a result, God used them to heal people and/or give a Word of Knowledge concerning people who need healing.

I fully believe that God can and will use us to perform any of the Spiritual Gifts (Rom 12:6-8; Eph 4:11-13; 1 Cor 12:1-11). So, what is the problem? This book seems to theologically agree with me, yet I am still conflicted.

The Great Commission does more than tell us to preach the gospel message to everyone, everywhere. Jesus tells us, “And these signs will accompany those who believe: in my name they will cast out demons; they will speak in new tongues; they will pick up serpents with their hands; and if they drink any deadly poison, it will not hurt them; they will lay their hands on the sick, and they will recover.” (Mark 16:17-18, ESV). This passage applies to everyone. Notice how it says, “And these signs will accompany those who believe…”  In other words, Christ, through the Holy Spirit, will utilize His believers to work in the supernatural.

If the authors were saying that we should heal the sick, rather than believing in God to work the miracle, then I would have sufficient cause to discredit the book. However, one of the authors reminds us, “We cannot heal anyone or raise someone from the dead. Only the supernatural power of God can provide the means necessary to bring about the desired result.”

The problem I have is that whenever I think about someone working in these supernatural events, I tend to think that it is not genuine. Whenever they react with excitement, I am all the more skeptical, as if when someone witnesses a miracle of God, they should react like it is nothing. I read the stories of healings in this book, and I look for every possible reason it could not happen.

I think the basic issue is, in the words of a song by the Ragamuffin Band, “my head ain’t even close to what my heart already knows.” I read things in the Bible, and I know they’re true. I believe with all my heart that what the Bible says can be trusted. But, when it comes the time for practical application, logic enters the picture. I don’t even know how I can ever try to apply logic to the supernatural. By its very definition, things that are supernatural are unexplainable. There is no way to look on the supernatural through the lens of human logic.

My constant prayer is that God will help me to not overthink the things that He wishes to accomplish in my life, and in the lives of others.

Let me know what you think. Do you believe in the supernatural, or is it just not “logical”? How do you get past human logic to appreciate the supernatural events that God has ordained?

 

                                      My Heart Already Knows

With Your hand you wrote upon my heart what my head has yet to believe
And with Your light you shine a path that my eyes can barely see, though it’s right in front of me
With Your mercy You have closed the book my guilty conscience opens up to read
And Your footprints mark the trail that I stray from constantly, though it’s right in front of me
You know, it’s right in front of me, oh, know it’s right on front of me

Chorus:

But if I ever learn what my heart already knows and not feel the hurt that I wear on my sleeve,
But the laughter that burns inside my soul
Let the child come alive, and drive away these ghosts
You know my head ain’t even close to what my heart already knows

All my life I’ve tried to find it searching for a reason and a rhyme
Though you’ve always lead the way I will still get lost sometimes. How could I be so blind?
And though my father is the richest king, I sit alone within my poverty
And though Your light still shines the path that my eyes can barely see, I know it’s right in front of me
Yeah, it’s right in front of me, you know it’s right in front of me

Chorus

Lord I’m asking for this sign. Light my heart up with my mind

Chorus

One thought on “Overthinking the Supernatural

Leave a Reply

