The Blood of Jesus

Happy New Year!!!!

 

I hope, and pray that God does great things in each of your lives this year.  Each challenge that you may face should be seen as an opportunity for Christ, no matter the size of that challenge.

We just finished Christmas, and are heading toward Easter.  I can’t help but to stop and think about the blood of Jesus.  In this blog, I am hoping that a lot of people weigh in, because I have some questions, and hopefully, I will find some answers.

My basic question is why did Jesus have to die, and shed his blood in order to provide salvation for us?  I understand that the idea of blood sacrifices goes back thousands of years prior to His death.  I further understand that blood was seen as the life force of the animal.  In Hebrews 9:22, we are told the law requires nearly everything to be cleansed with blood, and without the shedding of blood, there is no forgiveness.

My question deals with the why?  Why did God institute this law, knowing full well that his son would have to die as the ultimate sacrifice for us?  In Luke 22:42, it appears that Jesus is looking for a way out, if possible.  It says, “Father, if you are willing, take this cup from me; yet not my will, but yours be done.”  In His continued prayer, He began to sweat blood.  Not just beaded up on his forehead, but the Bible says that it dropped to the ground.  Obviously, He was worried about what was about to happen.  Why did this have to be the rule?

I don’t understand it, but I’m glad it happened!  Please, let us know your thoughts.

2 thoughts on “The Blood of Jesus

  1. Todd… you make some very interesting observations. Let me just ask one question, how would you feel if someone brutally killed your wife or child? Would you want revenge? Would you want the criminal to pay for their crime with their lives? In essence, our sin upsets God in the same way. It says in Romans that our Sin seperates us from God. It drives a wedge in our relationship with him. Our sin deserves death and God being the just Judge that he is wants the sentence paid. It was Jesus who stepped in and took our punishment. It would be the same as if a complete stranger who had done nothing wrong walked in the court room and volunteered to die in the place of the criminal who had killed your family. At the end of the day, justice has been served, and the criminal who’s life had been spared will leave that court room a changed man. Can you think of the thoughts of gratitude and change that would be going through the criminal’s mind knowing that someone else had just died on his behalf. This is the same feeling that God wants us to have towards his Son.

    Like

  2. Todd,
    Thanks for your thought provoking question. Although I can’t be a succinct as the first post(er) I have often thought about the same thing as you. The answer I often arrive at when contiplating the mysteries of our God is that it is seems impossible to ever know the answer. You know, I am comfortable with that because I have a confident faith in God’s Goodness, Mercy, and amazing Grace. I know in my heart that the price for my sin, my rebellion from God should be death. I believe that the chasm created by sin cannot be bridged by any effort of my own or, by any man. God’s Holiness is beyond compare, I could never reach him unless someone interceeded for me and, who better to do that than God himself in the person of Jesus. It seems like there could have been so many other ways that God could have saved us, not that I have a better idea. I am ashamed how man treated Jesus so cruellyand how He suffered so. I wish there had been another way so that He did not have to shed His blood and die in my place. He is God and because of His sacrifice we have new life. Praise Him!

    Like

Leave a Reply

